Who am I?

I'm Arttu Ylä-Sahra, a Finnish man born in 1994. I'm a graduate student of Mathematical Information Technology at the University of Jyväskylä, having graduated as a BSc majoring in Mathematical Information of Technology in late 2017.

What do I do now?

At the present time, I'm pursuing a masters' degree (currently) full-time. I have also worked as an adjunct instructor for the Programming 2 course held at JYU for the spring 2018. My masters' degree studies are rather near their completion, with one of the only substantial things remaining being a masters' thesis.

What's my IT background?

I do maintain a wide range of personal IT stuff myself, including this very website. I like to try new things, but I do not disregard old, stable methods where beneficial either. This has led to a wide range of experience, varying from highly popular, industry standard platforms like CentOS to less known technologies like GPG smartcards.

As of more recreational IT activities, I also like to work with retro computers and consoles. I believe keeping computing history alive is important, and strive to ensure that I have both original hardware and original software in service, as close as possible to their original form.

Other interests

I enjoy cooking, bicycling (both as a leisure activity and as a way to keep oneself in a reasonably fit shape), and photography.

Dev skills at a glance

Languages

  • Golang ★★★★
  • Ruby ★★★★
  • Java ★★★
  • Python ★★
  • Elixir ★★

Software

  • Linux ★★★★
  • ESXi ★★★★
  • Vue.js ★★★
  • Postgres ★★★
  • Nginx ★★★

Coding portfolio